Posted on

Bleeding royalty

As a kid, after having a blood test, I was told I had a low platelet count. At the time in History class we were learning about the Tsar of Russia whose son was born with Hemophilia, I was convinced I had it too. The symptoms are similar, though I have to say mine weren’t quite as deadly or dramatic.

Hemophilia: is a group of hereditary genetic disorders that impair the body’s ability to control blood clotting or coagulation, which is used to stop bleeding when a blood vessel is broken. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Haemophilia)

I appeared to have the watered down version (from what i understand.. but then I’m no Dr). If the number of platelets is too low, excessive bleeding can occur.

I’ve always had this problem, I get a small cut and it takes 20 mins or more to clot, it’s never bothered me, it’s been more a challenge of what shapes I can make with the blood… yes sickening but tru!

Later, once I’d done a First Aid Course and learnt that you had to wrap a wound and not change the dressing to encourage clotting I tried doing that, but adding dressing after dressing on to a finger is stifling and yes.. my fingers did look big in them!

In any case, when I found out, I was so happy, the Tsar’s son had a low life expectancy, and though it wasn’t wat eventually killed him, I had hope it would be the death of me. Unfortunately 17 years after this diagnosis and still with a low platelet count, I’m STILL here… BBBOOOOOOOO

and as I’m not royalty I don’t think I have sufficient enemies who’ll have me killed in my sleep.

If you’d like to brush up on your knowledge of history and read about the Tsar’s son: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alexei_Nikolaevich,_Tsarevich_of_Russia

About k111me

One day I'll get the death I've longed for faaarrr too long.

Leave a Reply

